Cai Guo-Qaing: Saraab

Yesterday me and half of VCUQ made the five minute drive over to Mathaf to attend my first event at the gallery since signing up for grad school in Qatar. I’m really glad I finally made it out there, and I’m pretty annoyed with myself for not making it to their Suwalif exhibit. The experience yesterday was truly unique, from the sound of bombs exploding, to the feeling of the explosions as they rocked your insides. It was the first time I’ve ever attended an opening in which I felt that all my senses were completely engaged. Then the actual exhibit was so calming and inviting, its amazing how much work he was able to put together in such a short amount of time. And the cool winter weather was just the icing on the cake.

Click here for AlJazeera clip from the explosions.

Leave a comment